Submarine Squadron 11


San Diego, CA
Home : SUBPAC Commands : Submarine Squadrons : Submarine Squadron 11 : About COMSUBRON 11

About Submarine Squadron 11

Submarine Squadron 11, commanded by Capt. Kenneth Douglas, consists of five Los Angeles-class fast attack nuclear powered submarines: USS Alexandria (SSN 757), USS Santa Fe (SSN 763), USS Scranton (SSN 756), USS Hampton (SSN 767), and USS Greeneville (SSN 772). Submarine Squadron 11 is also home to the floating dry dock ARCO (ARDM 5) and Undersea Rescue Command. The squadron staff is responsible for providing training, material and personnel readiness support for all units. Submarine Squadron 11 is located on Naval Base Point Loma in San Diego, California.


Submarine Squadron 11 was commissioned July 1, 1986, aboard her flagship, USS McKee (AS 41), at Naval Base Point Loma, as a result of reorganization of Commander, Submarine Group 5. Capt. W.L. Hicks was assigned as the first squadron commander.

Squadron 11 Personnel and Mission Operability

Submarine Squadron 11 has evolved through the years and now has submarines which represent some of the most capable attack submarines in the world. More than 60 officers and 500 enlisted personnel, overseen by the squadron staff of approximately 25 officers and 50 enlisted personnel, man Squadron 11 units.

Submarine Squadron 11 units maintain a very aggressive operational schedule, including training and operations with other ships in the Southern California operating area, independent operations to enhance readiness and deployments to the Western Pacific, Indian Ocean and Arabian Gulf. Their missions include anti-submarine, anti-surface, strike, special and mine warfare, intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance. The submarine community is a small force with a big impact and unique capabilities for any operational commander.