Home : Leadership : FORCM (SS/IW) Kevin A. Scarff, Force Master Chief

FORCM(SS/IW) Kevin A. Scarff

Force Master Chief

FORCM(SS) Kevin A. Scarff

Master Chief Kevin A. Scarff is a native of Blythe, Georgia where he graduated from Burke County High School in 1995.

He enlisted in the United States Navy on 2 August 1995 and received recruit training at Recruit Training Command, Great Lakes, Illinois. He graduated from the United States Navy Senior Enlisted Academy, Command Master Chief / Chief of the Boat Leadership Course in April 2010, and is also a graduate of the National Defense University Keystone Course.

Master Chief Scarff’s sea duty assignments include USS Springfield (SSN 761), USS Tennessee (SSBN 734)(GOLD), USS Dallas (SSN 700), USS Connecticut (SSN 22) and USS Alaska (SSBN 732)(GOLD).

He reported aboard the USS Alaska (SSBN 732)(GOLD) in May 2010 and served as the Chief of the Boat until August 2013. During his time as COB, the ship earned the COMSUBRON TWENTY Battle Efficiency Award for 2011 and 2012. The ship also earned the US STRATCOM Omaha Trophy for 2011 and 2012, becoming the first submarine to earn this award two years in a row.

His shore duty assignments include Submarine Learning Center, Detachment Kings Bay and Command Master Chief of Naval Submarine Support Center, Kings Bay, GA, Command Master Chief of Submarine Squadron 16, and Command Master Chief of Submarine Group 9.

His awards include the Meritorious Service Medal (three awards), Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal (two awards), Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal (five awards), Battle Efficiency (four awards), and the Good Conduct Medal (six awards).