An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News Admin
NEWS | April 3, 2015

Naval Submarine League Aloha Chapter Announces Warfighting Awards

By Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class Jason Swink, Commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet Public Affairs

PEARL HARBOR (NNS) -- Recipients of the 2014 Naval Submarine League Aloha Chapter annual Warfighting Awards were announced March 26 by Commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet (COMSUBPAC).

The Naval Submarine League awards program, honoring Pearl Harbor as the cradle of submarine warfighting history, aims to recognize excellence in submariners in various levels of leadership with an emphasis on warfighting skills and how the individual contributed to his submarine's warfighting readiness. 

"The recipients demonstrate beyond superior leadership and performance in the care of their shipmates on their submarines," said Jerry Hofwolt, president of the Aloha Chapter of the Naval Submarine League. "All aboard are challenged by individual circumstances, but some rise above and beyond, and those are our awardees."

Hofwolt said that with so many submariners performing at a superior level, it can be hard to pick. 

"We want to encourage strong leadership and provide recognition that is beyond the standard award process," said Hofwolt. 

Cmdr. John Friedman, from Albany, Louisiana, commanding officer of the Los Angeles-class fast attack submarine USS Columbia (SSN 771), received the Adm. Bernard Clarey Award for outstanding service of a senior officer.

Lt. Christopher Derego, from Dayton, Ohio, assistant weapons officer aboard USS Greeneville (SSN 772), received the Capt. Charles Rush Award for outstanding service of a junior officer.

Chief Electronics Technician Christopher Fiegle, from Atlanta, Georgia, assistant navigator aboard USS Louisville (SSN 724), earned the EMC(SS) John Rendernick Award for outstanding service of a senior enlisted Sailor.

Machinist's Mate 1st Class Ray Garcia, from San Francisco, serving aboard USS Charlotte (SSN 766), received the TM2(SS) Henry Breault Award for outstanding service of a junior enlisted Sailor. 

The Warfighting Awards are organized annually by the Naval Submarine League Aloha Chapter in cooperation with the Pacific Submarine Force. Candidates are nominated by their respective commanding officers and squadron commodores.