An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : Media : News Admin
NEWS | April 4, 2014

Naval Submarine League Aloha Chapter Warfighting Awards Announced

By Mass Communication Specialist 1st Class Steven Khor, Commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet Public Affairs

PEARL HARBOR (NNS) -- Recipients of the 2013 Naval Submarine League Aloha Chapter Annual Warfighting Awards were announced March 12 by Commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet (COMSUBPAC). 

"We are proud to recognize outstanding leadership and performance within the current Pacific Fleet Submarine Force," said Jerry Hofwolt, president of the Aloha Chapter of the Naval Submarine League. "We are encouraged to see the leadership at the deckplate level and want to recognize both junior and senior enlisted and officer leadership."

Hofwolt said that these Sailors are at the upper echelon of the submarine force. They not only do their job and do it well; they go beyond that in assisting the ship to be at the top echelon in their submarine squadron.

"We have great people in the force, and hopefully our award helps to recognize that," said Hofwolt.

The Naval Submarine League awards program is a highlight of the support the league provides to the submarine force. The awards are offered by the Naval Submarine League to recognize excellence, instill pride in the individual, reinforce the important role of the submarine force, and showcase the excellence that marks the performance of every submariner.

All four of the recipients performed at a level for which the Naval Submarine League Aloha Chapter deemed highly deserving of the award. 

Commander Marty Muckian, commanding officer of the Los Angeles-class fast attack submarine USS Greeneville (SSN 772), received the Adm. Bernard Clarey Award for outstanding service of a senior officer, recommended by the commodore of Submarine Squadron 1, Capt. Harry Ganteaume. 

"An outstanding team builder, his team is known for their professionalism, tactical proficiency and outstanding morale, said Ganteaume of Muckian. "He provides excellent mentorship to his officers, actively developing the future submarine force leadership. Muckian has developed an extremely high-performing team capable of completing the most challenging submarine missions."

Lieutenant Max Reitblatt received the Capt. Charles Rush Award for outstanding service of a junior officer, recommended by Cmdr. Brian Tothero, commanding officer of the Los Angeles-class fast attack submarine USS Buffalo (SSN 715). 

"Reitblatt was hand-picked to take on the most challenging assignments, and always delivers excellent results," said Tothero. "Specifically chosen ahead of more senior officers to stand contact manager in the submarine force's most challenging operating area in the pacific, Reitblatt's performance was brilliant." 

Tothero added that Reitblatt possesses an uncanny level of knowledge in all aspects of submarine operations, from nuclear engineering, tactical oceanography, casualty response and submarine tracking. His ability to train Sailors, watch teams and fellow officers raised the level of performance of the entire ship, contributing to Buffalo being awarded back-to-back Battle Efficiency awards. 

Chief Electronics Technician Matthew Tuckett earned the EMC(SS) John Rendernick Award for outstanding service of a senior enlisted Sailor, recommended by Cmdr. Christopher Buziak, commanding officer of the Los Angeles-class fast attack submarine USS City of Corpus Christi (SSN 705). 

"Tuckett's strong work ethic and dedication to duty have had a significant impact on his command and have made him a clear choice for his nomination," said Buziak. "He is the best chief I have had the honor to serve with over 20 years." 

Buziak said Tuckett's mentorship led to a 100 percent advancement rate for the most recent advancement cycle in his division. He also dedicates personal time to generate an automated qualification tracking process that allows divisional chiefs and officers to better manage their Sailors. 

Machinist's Mate 1st Class Timothy Andrews received the TM2(SS) Henry Breault Award for outstanding service of a junior enlisted Sailor, as recommended by Cmdr. Andrew Miller, commanding officer of the Los Angeles-class fast attack submarine USS Charlotte (SSN 766). 

"Andrews is a submarine force superstar and the best first class petty officer I have seen in nearly 20 years of service," said Miller. "Andrews expertly organized and oversaw the completion of more than 600 maintenance items, resulting in enhanced material and operational readiness." 

Andrews was selected to represent Submarine Squadrons 1 and 7 at the COMSUBPAC Shore and Sea Sailor of the Year, selected as the top Sea Sailor of the Year for all submarines home-ported at Pearl Harbor. 

Andrews said winning a Naval Submarine League Warfighting Award is definitely an honor. 

"I hope that I have helped the junior Sailors grow and better themselves every day," said Andrews. "I believe in setting the standard, being the standard and enforcing the standard, in the daily mission of the submarine force."

The Warfighting Awards are organized annually by the Naval Submarine League Aloha Chapter in cooperation with the Pacific Submarine Force. Candidates are nominated by their respective commanding officers and squadron commodores.